Omegang: Three Philosophers

 Rating: 5/5

ABV: 9.8%

As an asinine philosophy major I have often noticed Three Philosophers at various distributors, but have never quite had the chance to pick up a bottle. I try to stick to cheaper craft brews, for I have a meager budget and at $7.99 a bottle one can see why most college students will not pick one up initially. But I decided one night to just treat myself and pick up a bottle.

We decided to purchase a 2010 bottle, but in hindsight we probably could have found a 2007 or 2008, if we would have looked harder.

Ommegang  is originally a name for different medieval pageants that are celebrated in France, the Netherlands, and regions of Belgium. This name seems somewhat appropriate for the company who brews their beer out of Cooperstown in New York. Now I am no expert on the majority of their brews, yet their Three Philosophers remains the paragon of aesthetic virtue right from the start. This beer is capped with a cork, and makes a most pleasant sound once I pop the cork off. I know it is odd to note, but I simply love the sound that a bottle makes when I uncork it—it is as if some unknown transcendent force is beckoning me to drink the concoction. The brew pours a slight mahogany color, yet mahogany seems more red than this brew, but once again I have a color deficiency so please take my comments on color with a grain of salt. This reddish brown brew has slight ruby highlights and one can actually see sediments in the  brew, which I initially thought was a sign that the glass remained dirty. Yet this simply remains the yeast, and in many unfiltered brews one can see the yeast.

This brew does not taste overtly bitter and the malts seem to stick out, possessing  deep, rich and toasted qualities. The brew has a slight fruity taste, which after reading the bottle one can notice from the cherries in the brew, but unlike Magic Hat’s #9 the brew does not rely on an excessive amount of carbonation to perpetuate the fruit flavor. I probably should have smelt the brew prior to tasting it, but I could not really contain my excitement at trying such a high quality brew. I personally believe that the better concoctions avoid using an overt amount of carbonation in their brews, and I feel as if carbonation in brews is like that jagoff who uses complex language in a contrived manner to sound intelligent. Carbonation may have a place in craft beer for various circumstances, but ultimately I feel as if those situations remain few and rare. Three Philosophers smells of sweeter malts and the fruit is noticeable in the aroma as well. Several critics commented on how the brew has a chocolate scent, but I failed to notice this. This brew feels lovely on my lips and tongue, having a creamy feel, yet the creamy feel remains different than milk and half-and-half due to the taste. This quadrupel flows down in smoothly and one can notice a dry oak taste in the finish, which gives this brew an extra dynamic. The dry oak finish may deceive one into believing that the brew is actually aged in oak barrels, but James and I got into a lovely argument about this. I later researched this and noticed that on Ommegang’s website one can find information about how Three Philosopher’s ale is cave-aged in the Howe Caverns, which are about forty five minutes east of Cooperstown.

Ultimately this brew has depth that demonstrates that America can make amazing Belgian style brews—this quadrupel razzle-dazzled me, and I am more than willing to give it a 5/5, putting it on par with Great Lakes: Holy Moses White Ale and Thirsty Dog’s Twelve Dogs of Christmas. There is not a damn thing I would change about this beer, and I hope that this is the sort of brew my grandfather has waiting for me in heaven.

Side Note: I would like to point out that I have drank a great deal of piss brews as of late, so please acknowledge this in my judgment of this brew. I will review Three Philosophers later and if I have a juxtaposing opinion, then you will see me rant about it later.

-The Jesse Jennings, an amateur beer enthusiast

Mr. VanStone enjoying Omegang's Three Philosopher's.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

